aron quartett © Julia Wesely
Von der Romantik zur Moderne
aron quartett
Arnold Schönberg Center
Wednesday, 10 April 2024
6.30 pm
aron quartett © Julia Wesely

aron quartett
   Ludwig Müller violin
   Barna Kobori violin
   Georg Hamann viola
   Christophe Pantillon violoncello
Christos Marantos piano
Yui Futaeda soprano
Assaf Levitin reciter

Arnold SCHÖNBERG Streichquartett Nr. 2 op. 10; Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte op. 41
Gustav MAHLER Klavierquartett a-Moll
Anton WEBERN Klavierquintett op. post

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

With its yearning character, Gustav Mahler’s Piano Quartet appears like a sister work to Webern’s early Quintet, although Webern would not have been aware of the great symphonist’s youthful work. Schönberg’s String Quartet No. 2 follows almost seamlessly after these two pieces, only to advance towards an “air from another planet” in its final movement. Finally, the late “Ode to Napoleon” creates a contrast – a striking statement against the tyranny of National Socialism.

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available for seven days afterwards.

 Cooperation with the Embassy of Greece in Vienna.